RSS

Web Browser woes

27 Nov

G’day,

After tests Opera 12 uses around 50mbs!!! Way too much.  So I tried Midori 0.17 – no Flash! So I tried Midori 0.16 – again no Flash!  So I tried Epiphany-webkit – Flash causes Seg Fault.  So I tried Kazehakase-gtk gecko – just crashes almost immediately.  Swiftweasel is not longer supported – Arora is not in the Hardy repos (i’m not gonna compile something that may not work – I saw a number of “Flash does not work” forum entries”) – so I tried the base version of Epiphany-gecko … well blow me!  It works and works well – no problems – just haven’t tested it on TLC CE Linux yet to find out the RAM usage – if it’s under 20mbs or there-abouts it’ll do – it is dog ugly but at least it works!

I’ve only tested most of these on my full Ubuntu installation on my primary lappie but it’s got Hardy running…

Cheers

Martin

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 27, 2011 in TLC CE Linux

 

One response to “Web Browser woes

  1. toowoombalinux

    November 27, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Opera 12 looks beautiful smooth and graphically stunning – that’s why it uses so much RAM – there have been memory leaks with Opera 11.5 – also epiphany is well noted as being hyper-stable – will need to look into making it look a little nicer cos it’s dog ugly!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
