RSS

Scripts scripts script

09 Aug

G’day,

At this point I’m refining the operations of the OS.  Which involves chooser and launcher scripts generally run from the Control Panel.  Have installed Pburn as well as it appears to work well and has blu-ray burning capabilites; which makes it unique.  The going is slow as I’m a very basic programmer and many functions are beyond my capabilities – I just hack and modify.

I have made minor adjustments to the Menu as some programmes would not launch and I’m slowly discarding .desktop entries which either don’t work or are obsolete – this should tidy up the KDE menu.

An updated Audacity does not work – 1.3.6 but the current version is awesome with a hige array of presets that have appeared from no-where.  I suspect that some of the Audio production applications has added these presets – I not complaining!

Completing scripts and Control Panel then moving onto the enormous Help section.

Chromium did not work as documented previously however I may try to compile Chromium from source – I do want it on Puppy Ultimate Edition.

Cheers

Martin

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2010 in SimplyPuppy Ultimate Edition

 

2 responses to “Scripts scripts script

  1. paulhomebus

    August 9, 2010 at 8:35 am

    If your base Puppy is very similar to the 4.x series why not try including Google-Chrome 6 instead of Chromium?

    Topic on the forums: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=53469

     
  2. toowoombalinux

    August 11, 2010 at 2:30 am

    Hey Paul – this version of Puppy is 3.01 – it is what I use on my computers – I like it and it works very well (yes I know its 3 years old). I downloaded all Chromium and Chrome Puppy Downloads and got a strange dependency conflicts (not able to remember the output but it wasn’t the standard dependency conflict) for all of them – not able to correct even after replacing said dependencies. I suspect the culprit is the kernel 2.6.21 and/or the dependencies being compiled in the Puppy 4 kernel.
    When I have time I may look into it further.
    Cheers

     

Leave a Reply

 
